top of page
  • Writer's pictureElisa Love Steele

Sometimes anger feels good. But is it good for you?


Amalfi Coast, Italy

Sometimes anger feels good... It makes you feel like you drank 10 cups of coffee and you can conquer the world. You feel inspired, alive, and ready to fight.

I used to think that anger was the key to healing America. I thought, “If only enough people became angry enough”! If only that happened, I thought they would just rise up, and win back my country. We'd go back to her Constitutional roots. Right…? Here’s the thing though, anger burns hot like fire. Sure, it keeps me warm and alight for a time. It can keep me going at a breakneck speed, for years even! But eventually, I burn out.

Eventually, I just can’t keep feeling so dang angry about the same darn things, day in and day out. OR- the alternative is that I keep myself so angry, so outraged, so fired up, that it leaks into the rest of my life.

If I get myself so extremely stirred up and on fire, I can’t just shut it off in a moment and be entirely at peace and tranquil in my family life and relationships.

At least for me, I’ve found that the fuel that keeps me going, that keeps me getting out of bed, that gets me involved, that keeps me in politics day in and day out is; love.


Love of country, love of family, love of God.

I don’t use my time and voice every day just because I hate the Libs. Are you kidding me?? Kill myself over crazies who don’t even know I exist? Ha. No…

I keep on going, even when it feels bleak because I love my future children. I love my God and His laws of righteousness. I love this blessed land I call my country, and I want my children to thrive here someday under our glorious Republic. I want them to be governed by our inspired Constitution.

I want my children and grandchildren to have the freedom to worship and serve the one true God without fearing for their lives or livelihoods…


I want them to know the America I know and love.

And THAT is what keeps me going. Not anger, not hate, not outrage. It is from love. For God is Love, and through God, I can do all things.

P.S. Anger definitely has its place in life. I’m not saying we should never feel righteously angry. I am only saying that you cannot live your life purely on anger.

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page