top of page
  • Writer's pictureElisa Love Steele

Sex before marriage, gay marriage, adultery, and other deviant sexual practices.



Sex before marriage, gay marriage, adultery, and other deviant sexual practices. Chances are pretty strong that you’ve already made up your mind on these issues. All of these practices are becoming very widely accepted in today’s culture to various degrees. I vaguely remember a time when people didn’t watch movies where they glorified homosexuality because they didn’t want to condone that behavior. In fact, that was me once-upon-a-time. I remember I stopped watching the show “Revenge” because it glorified a gay/bisexual character. Today, I can’t say I hold myself to the same strict standard. It makes me kind of uncomfortable to think of my level of acceptance in my media watching habits... I’ve been told that there was also a time when people did the same about premarital sex and adultery. People widely avoided media that glorified couples crossing those sexual boundaries. If it wasn’t already clear, I personally do not condone any of the above outlined practices. I believe they are harmful to the family structure and its stability. Here’s the point though. I think a lot of today’s apathy and acceptance in regards to these matters, in large part, has a lot to do with our entertainment. Politics follows culture, not the other way around. Now I’m not claiming to be perfect in my media consumption, far from it. Honestly, it’s something I internally battle every day. I frequently wonder how much media influences my mind and opinions. Before you get all defensive, I’m not asking you to stop watching all media with sexually immoral characters. I’m asking you to just think about it. Just mull over how/if the media you consume may be influencing your life and level of acceptance for a behavior that you wouldn’t condone to your child. Speaking of children... let us at least take strong action to shield them from those influences. . SIDE NOTE: Some of my most favorite people in the world choose not to abstain until marriage, others are homosexual and others who have cheated. Love the sinner, hate the sin. The end. God bless you, God bless America.

98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page